Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko 2017-06-19

Leave a comment

It’s been a while since my last update. It’s been difficult for me to regain much of the momentum that I had before Cyclone Debbie. And, there have been a few things happening in my country of late that have been distracting. Some of the people that follow me on Facebook and Twitter will likely understand some of these things but I won’t go into further detail apart from me saying that some people want to shut down conversation about certain issues. Most of the people involved are good people but I think that they are wrong in this case. It’s also led to some folks and their work being misrepresented. This puts the idea of “journalistic integrity” into question as a whole. Enough of that depressing subject. It is time to talk about what else has been going on in my life.

On the blogging front, I am back in the swing of things now. I might have to increase frequency incrementally until I am back to the amount of content that I was posting before the cyclone struck but it will be a priority from now on as well as some other things. Time management will likely be a challenge but I really need to sort it if I want to have anything to show for my time. Based on some of the content that you’ve seen on my blog, is there anything that you’d like to see more of? I am considering posting about politics on occasion. Are readers interested in me posting that sort of content on this blog? If not, I might start another blog for that purpose.

In gaming news, hubby and I are now subscribed to Final Fantasy XIV. Yes, we were both playing Black Desert Online before that. Over the last four to five months, we’ve been playing less. For my husband, he was becoming less and less inclined to do active play. He didn’t tell what he was thinking but I did notice the lessened enthusiasm which I put down to frustration at the latency issues on experience weekends.
During his recent few weeks off from work, he comes out of the blue and asked if I would be interested in giving Final Fantasy XIV a try. I was sceptical but decided to watch some videos and read up on the game. He’d also mentioned that he intended to use it as a “holiday game”, which meant that he didn’t foresee necessarily taking a liking enough to go beyond the 30 days of game time that you get with the base game.
Then we played the game… and liked it… I found myself seeing logging into BDO as a chore but felt an attachment to members of my guild because they are a great bunch of people. The possibility of leaving them was a difficult one but I also understood how little active play I had also moved into since last Christmas. I jumped on Discord to see if members of the guild were logged on. Nobody was around, so I decided to drop our guild master a private message. I felt guilty but it also felt wrong to not tell them what was going on. In spite of G’s reassurances, I still feel a bit bad about it. My husband and I were guild officers and it felt like we were letting them down. It was an irrational feeling, I know that, but it doesn’t make it less difficult.
In any case, after more than four years hubby and I have a monthly subscription to FFXIV. We like it that much. We’ve also set up a Free Company (the FFXIV equivalent of a guild in other MMORPGs) to allow our toons to swap gear. You Can’t Join. Seriously, that is the name. 😀 It might be tab-targeting and lack the action combat that I liked about BDO and TERA, but there is a charm about the combat and the numerous systems that give me a lot to play around with.
Does this mean that I am discouraging people from playing BDO? No. It does have numerous elements that work well. However, there are some pet peeves that I have. One of those pet peeves resolves around… pets. There are a few other things but they are more personal preferences than anything else. That being said, the game interface has improved dramatically over the fourteen months since the game went live. If you do decide to give it a run, keep in mind that you’ll need a decent computer to run it.
What games have you guys been playing of late? What do you like or hate about them?

Exercise? *sigh* I need to get back into it but I need to focus on the results. One of those is the endorphins released during exercise once you get to a certain level of health and fitness. Good health and fitness also mean that certain things become possible and that barring any accident that leads to death, I will be able to be with my husband longer. Given that I love my husband, I see that as a good thing.

Now, some of you are likely wondering how my fiction writing is going. I decided to move back into the first instalment of Freak rather than focus on one of the other series in the same universe because that other series is merely a prequel of sorts for one of the characters in Freak. With the help of yWriter and reading Karen Aaron’s 2K to 10K ebook on writing, completion of the first draft of book one is well within reach over the next three months. Now, if only I could stop lingering on writing scenes and focus on planning so that I can avoid unnecessary rewrites and cuts later on. I will try to avoid posting more about the project until I have the first draft completed.
Yes, I am aware that another Camp NaNo start up again on July 1st. Given that I am focusing on my current project, I won’t be participating this time around. I will likely participate again in one later on this year or in early 2018. For those that are participating, I wish you the best with your Camp NaNo project as well as any other writing endeavour that you are currently focusing on.

Some other things happened of late that I consider worth mentioning. Sam Garbett has released two new tracks on Jamendo entitled Nostalgia and I Need to Go. Sunday Playlist 03/05/2017 opened with his song The Heat. The two new songs are a must-listen!
Based on a short conversation that I had on twitter with Vitne, the artist that I reviewed an album of yesterday, he is releasing his new album Jupiter in the next few days. Here is a link to the article on his official website where you will learn more about the release. I am looking forward to the release.
We recently saw an upsurge in posts about fidget spinners online. Some of these were hilarious whilst others were somewhat creative. Whatever your stance on fidget spinners, I believe that most of us can agree that somebody is making a lot of money off of a simple idea.

It is time to finish up this post. Before I go, I would like to off shoutouts to new followers Marvellous Fitness (gym inspiration blog), Said Christina (music blogger), Doggys That Blog (canine appreciation blog), nidjihouse, and Andrea Mack (food blogger). I am sorry that I didn’t give a shoutout to some of you sooner. I leave you all with the following clip by ProleteR:

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

