Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko 02/20/2017

Leave a comment

Another week has passed. Across all of the east coast of Australia, many people were dealing with their own share of weather-related issues be it fire or flooding. Thankfully, hubby and I live in an area that is for the most part isolated from such things. There are certain parts of our township that can be cut from for days at a time when we get a downpour but most of the people around her will have some sort of plan to deal with such things.

What have I been up to blog-wise this past week? I wasn’t able to get my anime review out on time again, which leads me to a bit of quandary. Much in all as I would like to write one each week, I also know that my habits have also changed in only a couple of months. I might have to drop it down to one each fortnight instead in order to have some sort of schedule.
I seem to be keeping up with my weekday prompts, with some folks actually checking them out. The process has led to me finding some really neat resources online as well as some talented artists. That is a really neat side effect of trying to release weekday creative prompts that are diverse enough to give folks some wriggle room to play.
I have also decided to post more reviews of Asian Drama and TV shows from now on given that the storytelling style is a bit closer to what I am trying to emulate with Freak.

On the writing front, I still haven’t finished writing the first chapter of Freak Book 1. You are likely wondering what the heck is up. Well, it occurred to me that I was lacking some information about New York City, the place where the story takes place. In spite of seeing numerous shows and films set in the city, I really didn’t know much about this iconic place.
So, I went about looking at maps to make sure that I had some idea of how my characters would get around via something as mundane as public transport. I also learnt a few pieces of terminology specific to the way in which the city is laid out. It was a lot of fun but I still have more to learn. However, what I did learn was enough to get me through the first chapter.
To the word count of the chapter, I am up over 5k now. The word count has fluctuated as I amended certain things to match up with what I learned about the city and about the architecture of large buildings such as high-rise hotels. Given that a large portion of the first novel occurs in a hotel from the staffing side, it made sense to get the description of how they would travel as close to right as possible.

That is it for this week. Before I go, though, I would like to get a shoutout to Civil who is a writer that I connected with on Twitter a few weeks ago. Civil writes some really good short fiction and recently started a Patreon page that I highly recommend that you guys check out. I leave you guys with the following song by the outfit Telepathic Teddy Bear:

 

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

