Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

Keiko’s Video of the Week #008

Leave a comment

We are now up to our eighth week of this segment. Whew! It feels a little bit odd that I actually seem to be continuing this video of the week thing, but I am sure glad that I am because I get to do research each week in order to mix things up a bit. I am also learning some stuff in the process, which is an added bonus.
In the ongoing tradition of not posting something from the same field two weeks in a row, I have decided to post a video about engines this week. We use engines for various things, ranging from transport to energy creation, with them being involved in a lot of our daily activities. The thing is that there are a few of us that are either rusty in the specific types of standard engine types or have absolutely no clue about how an engine works period. Most of you will probably want to avoid getting conned by a dodgy mechanic when you go to have your car serviced or some problem fixed but that takes being able to understand what the mechanic is saying and what you have experienced with the vehicle firsthand.
Nearly a decade ago, my husband and I spent nearly a year enrolled in a pre-vocational mechanic course at a tech college. We’d make the ninety minute round trip each weekday to attend classes taught by two likeable middle-aged men from very different backgrounds. Our practical teacher had been teaching the course in the same region for a decade and regularly did rallies for charity; whilst our theory teacher was a software engineer that cared for a mentally disabled son with his younger wife. I still recall them both with fondness.
Before I studied the course, I had no clue about engines other than the obvious concept of fuel, air and ignition concept that you typically learn in high school science. By the end, I was able to service a car and small engines such as a Briggs-Stratton, as well as maintain tools that you will be using to work on all of the above. I am sad to say that I haven’t retained nearly as much of what I learned during that time as I would like, but that is no doubt on account of not dealing with vehicles and engines on an ongoing basis. That being said, I can still recall certain things which were extremely helpful when installing a turbocharger and after-market air filter on our old Skyline GTS-T a few years ago.
To the video, we see a breakdown of the two main engine types used today. It doesn’t go into rotary, electrical, hybrid or engines powered by LPG, but I will likely track down videos on each of these engine types sometime down the track. I may look into the likes of Scramjet engines in the future as well because I am somewhat intrigued into how some of the more advanced engines work.

You can find Jason Fenske’s Engineering Explain youtube channel here. He posts some really neat videos that deal with the theory side of mechanical engineering at least twice a week. You can also find the associated Patreon here.

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

