Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko 01/16/2017

Leave a comment

Another week has passed, one where I finally pulled myself out of a backlog of posts. I am feeling a lot better now than what I was feeling like last Thursday, and I hope that there isn’t a repeat of my slackness anytime soon as I am trying to develop goods habits this year rather than how things have been in the past few years. It is so easy to fall back into bad habits, something that many of us have to deal with on a daily basis. For me, I stopped blogging for months at a time and my productivity suffered for it because I had given up trying to develop critical thinking and evaluation skills, especially when it comes to storytelling. Heck, I didn’t add anything to my fiction projects for an embarrassingly long time either. As for health and fitness… I still haven’t got back to exercising.

What goals are you currently working on? Why have you decided to focus on these goals?

Here’s the big question: Why change something? Sometimes we are at a stage in our life where we are stagnating, the world becoming a lot less enjoyable as a result. Sure, change can also be bad but we have to also develop those skills to adapt and prosper by living life moving towards tangible goals. This is where the classic concepts of S.W.O.T. and S.M.A.R.T. come in handy. A few of you might be familiar with these acronyms from the business and/or self-help fields. S.W.O.T. is a four quadrant chart for defining Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. S.M.A.R.T. is slightly different in that it tends towards with a specific goal by evaluating if it is Specific, Measurable, Agreed (by the relevant parties), Realistic and Time-bound. As a side, there are numerous concepts that also use this acronym, even in business.
Even if you don’t use a graphical or textual model for evaluating whether working on a specific goal or larger project will be worth putting in the time and effort, the specific components of both methods can spark at least some mild consideration of the problem at hand. That being said, we can also get so bogged down thinking about the pros and cons of something that we never make a decision at all. All of that “thinking” is energy would have been best spent working on something else instead or reading a good book about Penguins. In some cases, it could be argued that a person might be making excuses not to do something because they don’t want to do whatever that thing is. If you don’t want to do it, at least be honest with yourself and try to understand why.
For me, change means to improve and to be better at something than when I started. It is that grand idea that one should strive towards mastery even when it may not necessarily be achievable. It is also that want to earn respect rather than expect it without doing something that deserves it.

What does change mean to you?

To the writing front, I have been doing more thinking about Freak, that thing that I have been working on and off for the past four months. Some twists and turns have led to yet another change that will have a dire effect on the Freak series as well as one of the side series but should offer a bit more room for storytelling. The change makes sense, but there might be a bit more tweaking before the month is over. I seriously need to deal with the associated wiki as well.
Anyway, I tried to use Reedsy for drafting something yesterday and came across some hiccups. Whilst working on a chapter, the cursor randomly moved around, specific pieces of text could not be interacted with, and on one occasion a large piece of text was randomly copied and pasted without my prompting. It was a really odd experience, something that I was not dealing with a few months back when I last did seriously writing using the book writing platform. I am beginning to think that it might be worth going back to offline word processor writing and then copy it over to a Reedsy project when I am done. Here’s hoping that the book editor feature at Reedsy gets fixed soon so that I don’t necessarily need to do the copy and paste thing.

What writing projects are you currently working on, whether it be fiction or non-fiction? Is there something in particular that inspired you to work on the project?

To the home front, hubby and I did a lot of yard work last week. In spite of this, there is still a lot more to do to clean up the mess in the two lots. During the second day of yard work, we had to deal with meter-tall grass surrounding one of the septic tanks. The problem was that hundreds of Rhino Beetles were busy making sweet-sweet-love in the tree overhead. The tree is located behind the fence and some of its branches have grown long enough to droop low into our yard, making it easy to bump them during mowing. Even light touches on the branches caused some of the suckers to drop down and it quickly became an issue of safety. After all, it is the rare person that wants a pissed off insect like a Rhino Beetle landing on their back hissing and attacking them. I have never been attacked by one but I hear that a wound from one can be rather nasty.
As for the loungeroom, hubby and I still haven’t rearranged the room. This isn’t unsurprising given that he worked most of the last week and got several callouts. Still, I want to have my own expanded workspace. I am really looking forward to having separate screens for my everyday activities. What would really suck is if once we have everything arranged, the extra monitor doesn’t work at all… That would crush my fragile wittle spirit… until we purchase a cheap one to replace it. If we smoked or drank, we’d have trouble affording such things. However, I cringe every single time that we have a power outage as it takes a toll on our electronics.

Before I go, an anime blogger that allow follows this blog has recently started a Patreon page to cover some of the costs of her anime addiction. Karandi posts regular anime-related content over at 100 Word Anime, and I recommend that folks check out her blog if they haven’t already done so. You can find the blog here. If you like what you see visit her patreon here.

That is it for this week. A big shoutout to some of my new followers, such as yoyoyoshioka, Dominic Cuthbert, Kan-San, Misstiphanie and Sora-Jin before I go. I hope that future posts will be worthy of you and the numerous other followers of this blog hitting that follow button. In any case, I leave you guys with the following video clip of Liv Margaret’s song Spinning:

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

