Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko 09/06/2014

2 Comments

I haven’t posted an update in a while. I apologize for my recent activity and endeavor to go back to a more regular posting schedule. Though I have posted some reviews and an interview with an author that I highly admire, there have been some events that I felt it necessary to avoid posting about earlier as I was trying to deal with their impact. First of all, a friend of mine passed on in early August. Though I had seen posts about a tumor being removed from his neck months ago on Facebook, his passing came as quite a shock and I felt ashamed due to having lost contact for a while. Some celebrities passed on, being followed by some really horrible comments by folks lacking compassion or understanding for the circumstance, such as those directed at Robin Williams’ daughter Zelda. Then an author that I have exchanged a handful of conversations with via social networking passed on suddenly due to Cancer a week and a half ago. I don’t really have any inspiring words to say about death. It is sad and inevitable. We miss our loved ones and often create illusions in order to comfort ourselves as well as others. Make the most of this life and make sure that folks know that you care about them while you still have the chance.

GAMING
I haven’t had nearly as much time playing WildStar as I’d like, but hubby recently brought over a workmate that plays Magic: The Gathering. As such, we’ve started playing m:tg again. Its been fun trying out new deck combinations, but I have a long way to go before I have a few competitive decks to play with. It is still enjoyable learning some of the abilities of cards that I am unfamiliar with and experimenting.

Magic: The Gathering card back

Magic: The Gathering card back (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

EDUCATION
I have posted some of the MOOCs that I have finished over the past month and will be posting several more reviews that are in the backlog. Unfortunately, I missed the deadline for the last quiz and assessment for Crafting an Effective Writer course leading to a fail. As such, I have signed up for the next intake which starts in another week. I’ve also started posting some quick reviews (longer ones are posted here on my blog) on CourseTalk (my profile).

I am currently studying the following courses:

  • Think Again: How to Reason and Argue by Duke University at Coursera (2/12 weeks) *** I ended up dropping this course, with the plan of studying it in a later intake.
  • History of Rock, Part 2 by The University of Rochester at Coursera (1/6 weeks) ****
  • Foundations of Teaching for Learning 1: Introduction by Commonwealth Education Trust at Coursera (1/4 weeks) ***
  • Diabetes – a Global Challenge by University of Copenhagen at Coursera (1/5 weeks) ****
  • Vjx Visualizing Japan by Harvard at EdX (1/6 weeks) *****
  • ChinaX Part 7 by Harvard at EdX (1/4 weeks) *****

I will be starting the following courses in the next week:

  • Patient Engagement Design by Stanford Online (September 8) Though interesting, the material isn’t necessarily relevant to my current requirements, and will take away from other studies due to time limitations.
  • Poetry of America: The Poetry of new England by Harvard at EdX (September 10) Will study this in a future intake.
  • Crafting An Effective Writer: Tools of the Trade (Fundamental English Writing by MSJC at Coursera (September 12)
  • Sustainability in Practice by University of Pennsylvania at Coursera (September 15) Due to other commitments, I’ve decided to take this course in a future intake as it looks to have some value.
  • Chinese for Beginners by Peking University at Coursera (September 15)
  • Psychology and Mental Health by University of Liverpool at FutureLearn (September 8)

It may seem like a bit, but I get bored and often only learn the quality of a MOOC after the course goes live. I am willing to drop some of the courses if there is an issue with quality/content or there are other problems (e.g. schedule conflict). I don’t feel obligated to learn new things, but I can’t help but feel excited about some of the material that I’ve learned of late. This is pure gold for my writer self. Some things we learn in order to improve our employment options, whilst other things are studied to enrich our lives and help us become better informed citizens.

English: The Peking University campus

English: The Peking University campus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

WRITING
I haven’t done much in the way of writing, but I have done some fleshing out of characters and plotting of Winged Dawn using paper. Though I hate having lots of scraps of paper lying around, it appears that digital doesn’t help with the consistency at which I work on projects. I suppose that I’ll be going old-school for a while. #stationarywars

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

2 thoughts on “World of Keiko 09/06/2014

  1. I’m really sorry for the losses you’ve endured lately. I also wanted to say thank you for your reviews of these courses you’re doing. I plan to pursue the computer science course you reviewed in your previous post later. How do you find these courses??

    • It is a little surreal, but I try to remember that this is less about me and that other people will no doubt be grieving as well. I read a post by a cousin mentioning the passing of his mum this morning. I only met her a few times, but she struck me a nice lady. She was very much loved by her family that had no doubt that she loved them. Her life impacted on the life of people outside of the family as well. I somewhat wonder how my life impacts the life of others. This leads to the question: How can I impact the world in a meaningful way?
      As for the courses, I follow a few education blogs and keep tabs on new releases on the providers that I currently have membership with. It takes a bit of time to sift through courses until I find ones that appear to fit my needs and inclinations. I often find time being more of a factor than lack of course options. On top of this, a lot of colleges are going the opencourseware route. This makes course materials, such as handouts, available for download and remixing via a CC-SA license. Some of the better lecture series are now available via iTunesU, opencourseware, youtube channels, etc… With this wealth of options, following blogs that offer good advice frees up a lot of time. One example of a good website is open culture (http://www.openculture.com/). They regularly post lists of upcoming courses, complete with info such as certificate availability. Websites such as CourseTalk also allow folks to post reviews of courses in their searchable database. I started using this website last week and can a real use for it.
      If you have specific needs as far as your computer science studies (or other subjects) are concerned, let me know and I will attempt to find some suitable resources to help you along a bit. As for that computer science 101 course, I’d also convince Cari to also enroll. Nick Palante, the lecturer for computer science 101, taught an introductory course on Python at a google conference from a few years ago, which are on youtube. You can find the first session for the class at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKTZoB2Vjuk

Leave a Reply

