Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko: 08/22/2011

2 Comments

It has been a while since I last posted one of these updates. I have cut down my blogging because I suspected it might be a distraction from my fiction writing. This has been confirmed by a very productive 3 months, with lots of world-building and prose that doesn’t make me want to poke my own eyes out.

I’ve been working on the current project going on six weeks now. It is a fantasy world with a strong focus on the martial arts, mysticism, and some critters. It originally started out as a fantasy romance, but it took on a life of its own, forcing me to start reading up on martial arts, sex (mandatory for any sort of secular romance), history, mysticism, and religion. Its been a rollercoaster ride, but its been worth the time and the effort I’ve put in so far.

A week ago, it took an even more dramatic turn with me placing what was intended to be the first story and following another line of inquiry, which in this case were the past lives of the two main characters of that original story. Why? Because it made a lot more sense. Though there are romantic elements in the saga of Ciar and Mirra, there is a lot more to it than that. I will be focusing on some action sequences.

In other news, I’ve been listening to a lot more music of late. Below is a list of the groups I’ve been listening to:

Yep, it is mostly indie rock. Though I do listen to the occasional pop album, it is mainly as background noise. Indie music tends to be more thoughtful, less directed at the faceless masses. These artists tend to be more willing to try new things as well. I am not knocking the hard work of trad musicians, not at all. However, I am sick and tired of seeing cardboard cutouts and what can only be described as dalek music.
On the reading front, most of it related to what I’ve been writing. This has led to *sigh* Mills & Boon. My search of the Harlequin site did reveal the Afterlife series by Sophie Littlefield, which was an action/romance in a post apocalyptic zombie setting. Harlequin are beginning to branch out in new and awesome ways, though I can’t help but giggle whenever I read the synopsis for their cowboy and millionaire bachelor romances. No, I refuse to even consider historical romance due to being heavily disappointed with the sub-genre in the past.
Exercise? Well, I started running again. Nothing to write home about (because I’m like already there – hello!) but we did change to a slightly different route. Hubbs said it was around 8.25 km, but I suspect it is longer than that. I’ve already started seeing notable improvements in my times, though hubbs has been grumbling about me not giving him enough competition. I’ll get better – no doubt about it.
GOALS
The following is a (lo-fi) list of some goals for next month.
  • Writing: Finish part one of Dragon Hand Chronicles (book 1?)
  • Reading: Read at least 2 fiction and 1 non-fiction books
  • Exercise: Run at least twice a week
Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

2 thoughts on “World of Keiko: 08/22/2011

  1. Hey, in case you’re interested in checking out some of Sophie’s writing for free, she has a free Aftertime-related short e-story here: http://tinyurl.com/3q8jtlp

    (Hopefully it’s not weird to reply like this. I’m her editor and just want her to get more readers!)

    Have a good day!

    • Not at all, Adam. I downloaded Survivors a few days ago, but haven’t got around to reading it yet. It is exciting to see publishers like Harlequin branching out with series such as Afterlife, a real boon for readers looking for something new. Thanks again for dropping me a line. 🙂

Leave a Reply

