Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko: 03/02/2011

2 Comments

Over the last week, I’ve been contemplating making some major changes to the way that I present myself online. It has been difficult due to how heart-breaking the decisions have been, but I think it is for the best. You are likely wondering what the hell I am talking about, and I guess it is time to elaborate.

At the start of the year, I wanted to start some blog fiction sites. I did, hoping to improve my short fiction writing skills while offering up my work for criticism. Three blogs were born and it was a great diversion. The problem is, that the work I was posting was rubbish. I really shouldn’t have posted it online. I should have kept it on my hard drive, then posted it when the work was ready. By posting work before it is finished, all you are doing is dumping crap onto an already overwhelmed community of readers. It is not fair to anyone, especially when I know I can post better work.

My solution to this, is the removal of these three blogs as well as my fiction blog. It was a great run while it lasted, but I have to move on. Of course, I will be posting my better material infrequently over at my LiveJournal blog. The current stories of note are Valiance and Gamer Girl. I will still tinker and dabble with short fiction as well, but I will only post high quality material on that blog. As usual, I welcome any feedback folks are willing to offer. I will start deleting these blogs next week.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

2 thoughts on “World of Keiko: 03/02/2011

  1. Hm. Can’t say I’m happy to read this, but you have to do what you feel is best for you, my friend. Where does this leave Elven Gunslinger?

    • I will still be working on Elven Gunslinger in the background, and will send out drafts to the folks, such as yourself, that volunteered to help out. And when I have enough polished material for the project, I might consider focusing on blogging chapters. Regardless, I’ll be doing more research and saving some coin in preparation for publication sometime down the track, preferably sooner rather than later.
      In the end, I want to produce something worthy of the support of all of the people that have supported me over the years. You guys have been so good to me and deserve at least that much. There is still a lot of work to do, but I am determined to make this happen! ❤

Leave a Reply

