Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko: 01/10/2011

1 Comment

This week’s post is a day later than I anticipated. More changes were enacted and some ideas scrapped entirely as I gained more knowledge about my current capabilities as a writer and my somewhat limited knowledge of html.

I played roleplaying games over the weekend with friends, the first time as a complete group in about 3 weeks. I found one of the games more challenging due to some aspects of my character’s and my own limitations as a player. It was fun for the most part, but rain threatened to keep our two friends from arriving home due to flooding.

The floods have affected so many people along the east coast of Australia, destroying properties and wrecking havoc for infrastructure, but as long as you don’t do anything stupid, you can rebuild. Unfortunately, there are a few people that refuse to use commonsense and the infrequent number of folks that are just plain unlucky, leading to several deaths in the past month and a half. For these individuals, they will leave loved ones behind that I hope will learn from the circumstances behind these deaths.

On the writing front, I’ve started a blog over at Tumblr called Eternus Divum. Each weekday, I intend to post short fiction inspired by classical and religious imagery, the first being a brief descriptive based on William Blake’s lino cut entitled The Destruction of Leviathan. It was pretty enjoyable to write, and also inspired me to read up on the Leviathan myth. Did I mention that I love to read up on mythology?

I spent a bit of time working on worldbuilding Supaiku, as well as working on reworking the first novel of the Elven Gunslinger series into first person POV. Not much progress on the Valiance Chronicles, but I did spend a bit of time working on Heaven, a story that is yet another product of freewriting exercises. I am really enjoying how each of these stories are progressing so far, but won’t push myself too much due to a reluctance to suffer burn-out any time soon.

On the blogging front, I spent more time trying to find a new blog host and settled on Tumblr for a blog about my writing journey that I’ve entitled Aussie Gunslinger. I will be posting my writing diary and other stuff concerning my writing, on that blog from now on, using this blog for more random stuff, such as reviews and general news.

I may use blog.com for future wordpress blogs, if for no other reason than I can create podcasts. For most short audio stuff, I am able to upload a file up to 10 mb each day to individual Tumblr blogs, or embed from other sources if size becomes a real issue. This is where Mevio might enter the picture, but only time will tell. For now though, my blogging will be focused on self-promotion, networking and improving my writing skills.

On the health front, I have managed to drop 2 of the 3 kilos I gained over the Christmas season. The wet weather hasn’t helped, with rain deterring me from going for runs or walking. That being said, I am not regretting my choice to enjoy the season. I am content with how I’ve spent my time, hanging with loved ones, eating a bit of junk food and reconnecting with some old friends.

Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

One thought on “World of Keiko: 01/10/2011

  1. A good quote came out of this; “As long as you don’t do anything stupid, you can rebuild”. Great post, you lead an interesting life. Congratulations on the weight loss.

Leave a Reply

