Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Keiko 10/05/2010

1 Comment

I have decided after several weeks hiatus from blogging to jump out from behind the bushes with news about what I have been up to. During this time I have been gaming, writing fiction, watching lots of anime, exercising and dealing with a yard overgrown due to warmer weather and increased rainfall. I have been quite busy.

World of Warcraft

Image via Wikipedia

First up, I have been spending a lot of time playing World of Warcraft with my hubby on the Saurfang server. My Death Knight is now just under 5k gearscore after I decided to purchase some nice boots from the Auction House, and I can’t help but wonder when the new patch goes live as I have lots of emblems ready to be converted into usable currency. I am currently leveling my Warrior tank and my Druid healer alongside my husband using whatever rest bonus we accumulate due to several days in capital cities or regional inns, which seems to be working out quite well so far. I have been helping level the low level rogue of one of the other guildies that I befriended during the 2010 Noblegarden festival. Last time I checked, the toon was at level 23, but we have a long way to go before she hits 80. Once the guild has enough high level support, my husband has vowed to start actively promoting the guild and in turn, throwing ourselves into dungeoneering and raids.

P writing blue

Image via Wikipedia

On the writing front, I have been moving between the Iron Angel story that first appeared as a freewrite on my fiction blog; Totem Chronicles; Rebel Chronicles and Warden book 1. Most of those projects are probably unfamiliar to any of you, but I look forward to discussing them further with my online buddies (that includes my readers) some time soon. For now, I don’t want to get ahead of myself. And yes, I did promise to post some new fiction a week or so ago, but I didn’t want to post new, non-freewrite material until I had a complete draft.For anybody interested, I am not doing NaNoWriMo this year due to other commitments, but I will try to free up next October.

In anime news, I recently finished The Vision of Escaflowne series and have to say that although I didn’t completely enjoy the ending due to how I wanted to see Van and Hitomi’s relationship developing, it was pretty solid nonetheless. I finally convinced my hubby to watch Blade of the Immortal and managed to get him hooked as a result. The first 13 episodes were amazing in that I identified with all but one of the characters. The action was solid as well. I caught the first 3 episodes of Wolf’s Rain yesterday afternoon as well, and it looks quite promising indeed, and something that my hubby will find worthy of his time. I want to introduce him to Chrno Crusade, Code Geass and Death Note, but I think it might be worth finding a comedy series in the vein of Desert Punk to even things out a bit. If you guys have any recommendations, let me know.

A chicken running

Image via Wikipedia

On the exercise front, my times for the new running route are improving heavily. You can track my progress using the Daily Mile widget found on right sidebar just under the archives section. The current record was set at the end of last week, with me running 4.38 km in 29:43 minutes. I have to say that I am pretty stoked at that time, but I still have a long way to go before I get a sub-26 minute time. I weighed myself yesterday and noted I was under 62 kg for the first time in 8 years. I doubt I will weigh in under 50 kg before the end of this month, but I will have a crack at it.

Green Elephants Garden Sculptures

Image by epSos.de via Flickr

Finally, now that it is getting warmer and we have more rainfall, the yard is beginning to look a bit messy. So, I have been pruning like crazy in an attempt to make the place look more aesthetically pleasing. It is mainly mowing at present, but I have been doing a small amount of pruning in the front yard resulting in a huge pile of branches and foliage. My hubby complained about it this morning, saying that I have gone overboard, and I suppose on some level I have. He prefers to have the foliage in place to provide a privacy wall, and I don’t mind that so long as the tree branches don’t completely cover the likes of our hibiscus plants. Tree should provide a sort of canopy above a certain height, shrubs slightly lower and ground cover as exactly that, but I think we may have to agree to disagree in some regards. In any case, we both want to have a yard that provides privacy and helps cool the house.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

One thought on “World of Keiko 10/05/2010

  1. I gotta recommend Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, which is my favorite series since Rurouni Kenshin. The first episode of the series is lame, but it picks up quickly after that. This series may become my favorite of all time depending on how well it ends, but so far, so good.

Leave a Reply

