Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

Writing Diary: 07/06/2010

Leave a comment

Structures of brain

Image via Wikipedia

Life has been all over the past week, with numerous stimuli stirring up the creative centers of my brain. However, in spite of this fleshing out of ideas, I haven’t written much. You are probably wondering why I am bothering adding this entry, and I can understand that most would see this as potentially stalling my productivity. I get that, but I have to retort that the following notes are based on an idea for a short story prompted by a prose prompt I did last night.

Prose Prompt: Use the following sentences to begin: “It’s not the street I usually go down. But for some reason, that day I turned down a different road.”

This is a pretty open-ended prompt that offers plenty of possibilities for a creative writer. Here are a few that you could easily utilise:

  • Fantasy: The protagonist is sucked into another world and quests to get back to their own world
  • Crime/Thriller/Action: The protagonist is witness to a major crime and must run for their life as the bad guys attempt to kill them
  • Science Fiction: The protagonist is saved from alien invasion because of their locale (ESP)
  • Romance: The character actually hits a dog and romance blossoms when they take the animal to the vet
  • Hentai: Tentacles, tentacles, tentacles – and all in the wrong places (bleh!)
  • Superhero: The protagonist gains awesome powers when a research lab they are traveling beside is compromised by terrorists
  • Feel free to add your own in the comments section, as well as examples where the story starts with a similar scenario.

I decided on a specific idea with this one, as I saw our female protagonist suddenly realize that she is driving past her family home. Sentimentality and growth emerge as our heroine and her husband are forced to move away from a life of just existing, into that of buying their first house and starting a family that they’ve been considering for the past few years but haven’t got around to beginning due to circumstance. The following are facts I have already decided on for the story:

  • The protagonist lived in the home for the first 15 years of her life
  • She returns to the area a decade later and meets the man that becomes her reason for sticking around
  • She never returned to the house until that fateful day seven years after she moved back to the area (married for 6 years to her husband, Luke)
  • The story is told from the perspective of years after they’ve started the family
  • The house is an old broken-down Queenslander, a renovator’s dream
  • The story will be called Queenslander

Yep, there are still plenty of gaps to fill in with the story, but I am happy with the progress I have made so far.

In other news, I am considering going back to work on the zombie story, as well as the origins story for Mouse, one of the superheroes from the Gatekeepers-II superteam set in my Preternatural Universe. I was thinking about Mouse’s future and her past as I was mowing the yard today, and I was startled by what I decided upon. Where before, she was romantically attached to Mondo, when she gets old enough, she will start dating Rock. It was more of a Wolverine/Jubilee story before, but it made no logical sense, because we offer each other so much. Besides, the immortal deserves somebody special after the mess that he’s been through. More details to follow… eventually…

Enhanced by Zemanta
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

