Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

Music Video: Ventura Highway (Live) by America

5 Comments

Cover of "America"

Cover of America

I have been a fan of the 70’s west-coast rock group, America, since the mid-80’s. Each song was so catchy and so repeatable, meaning that even if the music isn’t playing in the background, you will be humming it unconsciously as you are going about your business. The following is a live performance in 1974 of a song entitled Ventura Highway, a track that has got some serious airplay over the years, along with songs like Sister Golden-Hair and Horse With No Name. These songs are good examples of how unique their lyrics and sound was from other rock groups of their era, and created a quite a following because of it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

5 thoughts on “Music Video: Ventura Highway (Live) by America

  1. Although I never really liked Ventura Highway that much, America always have a place in my heart simply because of that one song:

    A Horse with no name. It is such a beautiful piece of music, and really evokes the atmosphere of the desert. It’s a timeless classic.

    • I have always loved the uniqueness of their sound. I have to say that the 70’s came out with some fine music. It is such a pity that many of the groups for the current era are so similar in sound and style.

  2. I don’t know how old you are – I’m 52 – but I have to agree. As a musician, I have to try and maintain a semblance of interest in current/unfolding trends, but it’s getting harder and harder to understand where the innovation, quality…hell – MELODY is any more. The seventies – well, in fact I would say roughly the decade 1964-74 was astounding for music. Some of the hit singles of those 10 years are just amazing, and make no mistake, the creatively bankrupt swathe of artists today plunder that goldmine with impunity. I’m not talking about genuinely ‘inspired by’ artists such as Jelly fish and Crowded House, I mean pale imitations such as Oasis, or the blatant sampling and ruination of beautiful songs like “I won’t hold you back’ by Toto – dissected and regurgitated into meaninglessness by pseudo-star DJ’s such as Roger Sanchez. It’s really quite depressing. Right, off my soapbox now! 🙂

    • I am in my early 30’s, but I was brought up listening to lots of music as a kid. Our household was filled with the likes of Toto, KISS, Fleetwood Mac, Foreigner, Janis Ian, Bob Seger and James Taylor. I tend to find that in spite of a lot of crap music being released today, there are a few Indie artists beginning to pop up. Guys like DC Cardwell, Josh Woodward and Matthew Selznick are certainly inclined to the older concepts of quality, and are inspired by the freedom making music for the love of it can offer. After all, if you don’t do it for the green, you are creating from the seat of your pants and with no restrictions of content or style that a label often places on signed musicians. You will also notice the use of chordwork being utilized by some of these guys, inspired by groups like the Grateful Dead and the Beatles. Good stuff, there is no doubt, but I bet it has caused many a finger to bleed.
      As a writer, I try to listen to music that has a story in the lyrics, or instrumentation that can easily inspire some scene in my head. Given that music is another form of storytelling, there are no doubt numerous similarities in the method used to devise the story within. Like any artwork, you can be inspire to create at the strangest times. Songwriters often take notebooks around with them as well as an instrument – if available – while fiction/non-fiction writers tend to bring a laptop or notebook with them on their journeys. Both write and rework the idea until it is to their satisfaction. Each also struggles to get their work out there once it is completed.

  3. It was Josh that introduced me to Jamendo after I read a piece about creative commons by him on the net. I’m lucky enough to play for several well-known bands, and enjoy some measure of success touring the world with them, but for my last solo album I decided to put it out through Jamendo as an experiment – no promotion to speak of, just put it out there. I write so much, I came to the conclusion that it was better sat there than in my hard drive! My current project however will be available on Jamendo but through the shop. I’ve softened my approach to free music a little, but still worry that, by attaching no value to it myself, prospective listeners may do the same!

Leave a Reply

