Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

World of Warcraft Vs Keiko

2 Comments

The Battle.
Image via Wikipedia

You might have noticed recently that I have been missing of late.

A few weeks ago, my husband blew me away with an unexpected query as to whether I would play World of Warcraft again if he started to play it. Turns out that he wasn’t as satisfied with Runes of Magic as I believed. So, we immediately started looking around for disks and got our Battlenet accounts up to date using our old World of Warcraft details. I ended up formatting my computer and finally got Windows 7 Ultimate on this sucker.After all, I don’t want to have to reinstall and download all of the updates again when the time for Windows 7 Beta periodic shutdowns get close.

However, I have had to approach World of Warcraft differently this time around. For those that aren’t aware, last time I played, I stopped writing for just on a year. World of Warcraft is addictive and it is easy to get caught up in the community, but you really have to be careful not to neglect the things that matter – friends, family, ethics, responsibilities (financial and otherwise), as well as mental, spiritual, physical and creative growth as an individual.

For the days that I haven’t been roleplaying with my game group, I have played no less than 8 hours a day on World of Warcraft. My Death Knight is on the precipice of 67th level now and I have 2 toons (human priest and a human paladin) ready to pull up levels. My husband and I started a guild as well, now with the first bank slot, and have 4 friends that have joined the server to play alongside us. We are talking about starting a guild website and actively beginning the task of pulling lower level members up levels as well.

It has been a bit strange going back to the first MMORPG that I ever played, but there is something about this game that resulted in a 9 month period of not writing several years ago. There is a heck of a lot going on at any given time, and the game is simple enough that beginners won’t be intimidated.   It has been a pixel-induced creative coma, but I am fine with that. I have enjoyed going back to playing the game, and find that it is great research for a story that I am working on about a Technomage. I could never play Runes of Magic as much as World of Warcraft, one of the most addictive games I have ever played.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

2 thoughts on “World of Warcraft Vs Keiko

  1. So, I know now that if you do completely vanish for months, then I’ll need to stop by here and give you a “Hey Keiko – Keep Writing!” shout out? Yeah! I can totally do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

