Keiko Online

Blog Home of D.L. Owens

NaNoWriMo 2009

Leave a comment

Old Speck Mt.
Image via Wikipedia

As some of the people that follow me on Twitter might already know, I won’t be participating in NaNoWriMo this year. For me it was a difficult choice, and one that did need to be made. I have joined in two times in the past 4 years, and would have this year if not for a number of factors.

  1. Time Constraints: Much is planned in the months of October and November, some of which are project-related.
  2. Mental Preparation: Given that I have no chance of preparing myself mentally for this event, I feel that there is no point in placing even more strain on myself when I am still getting used to writing on a regular basis.
  3. Project Preparation: I have no clue what I would work on, so there would be no point in signing up if I am still unsure of what plot I’d work on. As it is, I have lots of other projects calling to me. Why start something new when I feel inspired to flesh out existing projects?

That is my reasoning. Some of you may raise an eyebrow at these points, but I believe that it is necessary to be decisive in this matter. I really don’t believe that having the decision of whether or not to do NaNoWriMo looming over my head is an ideal circumstance at this present time. However, I believe that next year it should be a real option for me. For those participating in NaNoWriMo this year, I wish you all the best with your writing and subsequent editing of your manuscript/s.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: keikomushi

Reader, Writer, New Media Buff, Anime Fangirl, Gnome Hunter, Last Action Femme Fatale, Appreciator of Nature, Jack-of-all-trades.

Leave a Reply

